Multimedia & Vision People


  1. Prof. Ebroul IzquierdoProf. Ebroul Izquierdo

    Chair of Multimedia and Computer Vision and Head of the Group

  2. Dr Ioannis PatrasDr Ioannis Patras


  3. Dr Pengwei HaoDr Pengwei Hao


  4. Dr Qianni ZhangDr Qianni Zhang

    Senior Lecturer

  5. Dr Dimitrios KolliasDr Dimitrios Kollias

    Senior Lecturer

  6. Hon. Prof. Marta MrakHon. Prof. Marta Mrak

    Honorary Professor

Past Academics:

  1. Dr Hatice GunesDr Hatice Gunes

    Affective and Human Computing

Visiting Academics:

  1. Prof. Sergio A VelastinProf. Sergio A Velastin


  2. Dr Arturo de la EscaleraDr Arturo de la Escalera


Researchers Associates:

  1. Dr Tomas PiatrikDr Tomas Piatrik

    Multimodal fusion for Multimedia Retrieval,

  2. Dr Valia Guerra OnesDr Valia Guerra Ones



  1. Thomas Bangert

    Colour Theory, Colour Vision

  2. Christos Tzelepis

    Discriminative Machine Learning for Video Event Detection

  3. Camilo Vargas

    Semantic based media synchronisation, aggregation and event plotting

  4. Andrej Satnik

    Multiview 3D sensing and analysis for high quality point cloud capturing and model generation

  5. Maria Santamaria

    Video Coding, HEVC and Turing Codec

  6. Tingting Xie

    PhD Student

  7. Yibao Sun

    Medical Image Understanding, Remote Sensing Image Analysis

  8. Bingqing Guo

    Image Processing, Image Style Transfer & Classification

  9. Maria Silvia Ito

    Video coding, deep learning, computer networks, and Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH)

  10. Xindi Zhang

    Computer vision, machine learning and deep learning

  11. Samadhi Wickrama Arachchilage

    Computer vision, machine learning and deep learning

  12. Yilong Li

    PhD Student

  13. Xingru Huan

    PhD Student

  14. Bilal Hassan

    PhD Student

  15. Georgios Zoumpourlis

    Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Affective Computing, Adversarial Attacks

  16. Issa Khalifeh

    Deep learning for super-resolution

  17. Edgar Giussepi Lopez Molina

    Localisation and Segmentation of cancer tissue

  18. Woody Bayliss

    AI Interpretability

Illustrious Alumni:

  1. Dr Ellie (Jieon) Kim

    Video coding

  2. Dr Mina Adel Thabet Bishay

    Learning-based tools for analysing facial expression of patients with mental illnesses

  3. Dr Zhaoyang Xu

    Medical image processing

  4. Dr Aria Ahmadi

    Motion Estimation

  5. Dr Wenxuan Mou

    Affect Analysis and Membership Recognition in Group Settings

  6. Dr Nur Farhan Kahar

    Computer Vision, Knowledge Representation

  7. Dr Andre Seixas Dias

    Video Coding

  8. Dr Vigneswaran Poobalasingam

    Performance Optimisation of HEVC,

  9. Dr Faranak Sobhani

    Knowledge representation

  10. Dr Farzad Toutounchi

    Super resolution

  11. Dr Zongyi Xu

    High-fidelity Human Body Modelling from User-generated Data

  12. Dr Foteini Markatopoulou

    Machine Learning Architectures for Video Annotation and Retrieval

  13. Dr Juan Abdon Miranda Correa

    Multimodal Affect Dimensions Tracking, Video Summarisation and Social Contagion

  14. Dr Salehe Erfanian Ebadi

    Deep Learning, Computer Vision/Graphics

  15. Dr Petar Palašek
  16. Dr Tomáš Kliegr

    Monotonicity in Rule Classifiers

  17. Dr Evangelos Sariyanidi

    Representation and Analysis of Facial Expressions in Image Sequences

  18. Dr Fiona Rivera

    Virtual reality, 3D animation, motion capture, HCI, interactive multimedia, REVERIE, CONNECTA2020, 3DLife

  19. Dr Cesar Pantoja

    Semantic web, Knowledge managment, Machine learning,

  20. Dr Craig Henderson

    Tracing Artefacts in CCTV Surveillance Videos,

  21. Dr Ivan Zupancic

    Efficient Video Coding Scheme,

  22. Dr Shenglan Huang

    Multimedia streaming over P2P network with network coding

  23. Dr Daria Stefic

    Human action recognition using gaze information

  24. Patrycia Barros De Lima Klavdianos

    Image Processing

  25. Dr Saverio Blasi

    Video Coding, HEVC, Image Compression, Image Processing / ran THIRA

  26. Dr Yixian Liu

    Stage-based 3D Scene Reconstruction

  27. Dr Sertan Kaymak

    Real-time Appearance Based Gaze Tracking

  28. Dr Michele Sanna

    Network Coding, Signal Processing, Video Streaming

  29. Dr Markus Brenner

    Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Information Retrieval

  30. Dr Virginia Fernandez Arguedas

    Video Surveillance, Pattern Recognition, Object Classification

  31. Dr S Navid Haji Mirza

    Gaze Tracking, Human Computer Interaction, Image Annotation

  32. Dr Stefano Asioli

    p2p, game theory, scalable video coding

  33. Dr Eduardo Peixoto

    Video Coding

  34. Dr Sander Koelstra

    Image Emotion Analysis, Emotion Recognition, EEG Analysis

  35. Dr Paulo Vinicius Koerich Borges

    Digital Image Watermarking, Computer Vision, Image Processing

  36. Dr Marta Mrak

    Video Coding

  37. Dr Evan Morgan

    affect and music

  38. Dr Konstantinos Bozas

    Computer Vision, Image Retrieval, Machine Learning

  39. Dr Vijay Kumar B G

    Machine learning, Computer vision, Image Processing

  40. Dr Karthikeyan Vaiapury

    Model Based 3D vision

  41. Dr Xavier Sevillano

    Cluster Ensembles

  42. Dr Cristina Romero Macias


  43. Dr Divna Djordjevic

    Image Annotation

  44. Dr Marcin Grzegorzek

    Image Annotation

  45. Vlado Kitanovski

    Facial Feature Augmentation

  46. Dr Fuzheng Yang

    Scalable Video Coding

  47. Dr Toni Zgaljic

    Scalable Video Coding

  48. Dr Janko Calic

    HCI, video coding, content based retrieval

  49. Dr Krishna Chandramouli

    Video Coding, Image Classification, Biologically Inspired Learning

  50. Dr Ivan Damnjanovic

    Sparse Representations, Digital Image Watermarking

  51. Dr Uros Damnjanovic

    Image Classification, Video Annotation

  52. Dr Le Dong

    Image Classification

  53. Dr Andrés Dorado

    Semi-Automatic Image Annotation, Rule-Based Video Annotation

  54. Dr Giuseppe Passino

    Patch-based Semantic Labelling of Images

  55. Dr Nikola Sprljan

    Scalable Video Coding

  56. Dr Lasantha Seneviratne

    Semi-Automatic Image Annotation

  57. Dr Stefanos Vrochidis

    Interactive Video Indexing

  58. Dr Weiwei Guo

    Pattern Recognition

  59. Dr Spiros Nikolopoulos

    Semantic Multimedia Analysis

  60. Dr Antonis Oikonomopoulos

    Human Activity Analysis, Image and Video Retrieval

  61. Dr Muhammad Akram

  62. Dr Maria Patricia Trujillo Uribe

Noble Contributors:

  1. Dr Theodore Zachariades

    Former Research Associate

  2. Dr Frank Peter Foerster

    Developmental Robotics and HRI for Language Acquisition

  3. Dr Julie Wall

    Biologically Inspired Computational Models of Auditory Related Neural Circuit and Spiking Neural Networks

  4. Dr Irene Kotsia

    Facial Expression Recognition

  5. Dr Oya Celiktutan Dikici

    Affective and Personality Computing for Human-Computer Interaction

  6. Professor Naeem Ramzan

    Image/Video Processing, 2D/3D Video Transmission, Social Media Distribution